New blog!!! up and running in circles

18/07/2023!

meh!

And so I finally, FINALLY fix up my site enough to set up my blog for real. Hello y'all, anyone or noone who might actually read this.

I've been planning on setting up some sort of blog proper since I made this site, mostly so I dont end up cluttering the front page with updates.After so many years of web 2.0 this sort of thing is not at all convenient but not everything has to be so convenient? Maybe I'll actually get words down this way. My website is amateurish as hell but hey, maybe there can be a space for amateurs again.

meh!

Half of 2023's gone by and it has been a hard year in terms of sales. Start of the year showed some promise but with every event it feels like more and more effort down the drain of less and less returns. I'm not hoping to be the biggest convention artist or anything but I feel like I used to do better, get more out of this financially, emotionally, creatively....

I hesitate to call my increasing feeling of burnout and dwinding creative drive a post-pandemic effect, the pandemic is still very much a thing we are living though whether our governments still give a shit or not. "Post-Lockdown" I think is a better way of putting it. Post-Lockdown events have not felt the same for me,the PH/Manila art scene has its ups and downs but it's just felt harder now to create stuff I feel anybody would give a shit about. Is it oversaturation of events? (there sure as hell have been a lot of events this year goddamn, like a post-lockdown avalanche of folks desperate to see other people again) and oversaturation of certain types of art? Unlikely? idk.

Also possible and likely is I've just gotten too amateur for the level of production expected of convention-artists these days. The stuff people manage to produce gets more nuts every year so maybe there just isn't a space for my hokey, homemade, "i must sculpt every bead and produce every mold myself or I'm failure" kinda bullshit if the end result is less polished...less marketable?

So ,amateurish, exactly like this website lol. Maybe I too in all my bullshit can have a space to exist.