2024 and we're still dead (and not quite lovin' it)

31/01/2024

Well! It's the end of January of 2024. Nothing particularly special about that but moodwise I have gotten a smidge better than late 2023. Which, well it's to be expected when you just stop taking your pills like that.

Anyway POTA (Patrons of the Arts) Art Market event was earlier this month and I did surprisingly well for somebody who barely had anything prepared and crammed it all in like a week or two. That's on me definitely but a slight upturn in mood does not an inspired person make.

Neocities is a haven for nerds who hate social media, that's pretty much why I have a website to begin with. Have to admit though, I have been using instagram a little more lately. I don't post anything and the useless site still has me locked out of my original account but it is inspiring to see other people post their work (sometimes, mental illness usually just makes me more down on my own lack of productivity and inspiration).

Full honestly, I've been watching a lot of Hermitcraft again lately. It's a comfort youtube series for me like, specifically Mumbo Jumbo idc if that's cringe but the guy is PROLIFIC and recently got out of a rut of burnout himself (well it was a year ago but that's recent for a geezer like me). I've been trawling through his side instagram @a.creative.junkyard and it's a collection of mostly poster graphic design that he did a daily design challenge for a few months. What I find interesting about it is how he used posters like journaling leaving commentary in the designs themselves about the process, inspiration, even just life things or thoughts. It's nice to see somebody put out their thoughts and creative struggles like that especially since it's not a medium I use particularly so I don't get hit with the jealousy beam and dismiss it outright. Am I nasty for thinking that? Eh maybe.